‘Life, People & Friendly Cats’

Now, I would blog about the house I live in, but then people would see where I live. It seems the stereotype of dingy student housing, every surface piled high with washing up and beer cans, doesn’t seem quite so character and memory building when you’re living in it.

But a few weeks ago I had the pleasure of staying with my brother in his charming split level flat in heart of lively Brixton.

The interior is a quirky combination of fresh out of uni trinkets and a tasteful collection of mismatched furniture. The flat, although lived in by 3 bonified adults still contains the playful hints of millennial living such as the dart board and a range of objects salvaged from skips or garage sales. It seems that Brixton has a huge ‘give away’ community, a surprising amount of houses had stacks of old records or books on their front wall free for the taking.

I think the most appealing aspect of the flat was that each room came with its very own picturesque view of London, almost hung like a personalised poster on the wall, framed by classic sash window frames.

Brixton, despite being a young and fresh part of London, emanates an old, friendly vibe. It’s older residents walk around hand in hand with their children or partners while taking in the crude displays of free things on offer and old architecture towering over them. The younger generation dart around the streets like atoms, drinking in the novelty of all things cool in Brixton. (One of these cool places will be featured in a later blog post so keep your eyes peeled)

I was lucky enough to be exploring the very streets that had worn the holes in my brothers Nikes, with my brother. And everyone knows exploring with a local means you get to see all the secret places only those who know, know. Brixton market was first on our hit list of places to visit. The small covered part of the market was packed with shops, standing shoulder to shoulder, spilling sweetly packaged soap and other handmade trinkets onto the bustling main thoroughfare. The surrounding area was bursting with fresh vegetables, fruit, artwork and more trinkets.

On of my favourite things to photograph is contrasting textures and, it appears, brickwork; both of which are rich in Brixton. The architectures patchwork facades, partnered with classic features add to Brixton’s immense charm.

On my way back to the tube station I dragged my feet, thinking of everything I’d seen and how much I craved to be surrounded by such intrigue all the time. Out of the silence came my final comment on Brixton ‘This place is everything I love! It’s full of life, people and friendly cats’. My brother laughed…

Leave a Reply

