SDS17

So one good thing about having practicing and passionate lecturers is that they really have their finger on the pulse of the design world, they know all the trade shows and events coming up. It’s becoming ever more apparent that to be successful in this industry you need inspiration coming from all angles, for this reason when my lecturer mentioned in passing this amazing show that displayed current and new trends in surface design I immediately pencilled it in my bullet journal. I had to go.

I am lucky enough to have a handful of amazing friends who always take a keen interest in my degree, as I in turn do with theirs, and my blog. This, much to my pleasure, took over an entire evening with one particular friend. We whiled away the hours talking about the beautiful opposition between brick and glass, and for some time, the photos featured in this post. As soon as she saw the red carpet runners above she was immediately reminded of the warm and eccentric markets of Turkey she had visited some years earlier.

One prominent trend was tactile surfaces. This idea was perfectly encapsulated in the work of University of Huddersfield student Emma Linney. These 3D installations are not only beautiful additions to either an inside or outside space, but also have acoustic properties.

Embedded detailing was also a popular trend at the show, featuring many marbled and metallic surfaces.

Living walls were also high on the agenda. One eye catching display from Innerspace Cheshire boasted the new innovative approach to make the living wall much more practical and affordable. The premise is moss, carefully dried with a focus on keeping the plants soft texture. From there they can dye it a variety of colours and the possibilities are endless.

Naturally the show also presented a vast array of tiles, which was met with no objection from myself, with a heavy focus on geometric patterns, tonal colours and bright block colours.

Trade shows like this one are not only a fantastic opportunity to spark inspiration but also to make contacts (something that I didn’t realise until I got there and was sadly unable to oblige people asking for my business cards due to my lack of having one) and to learn new things. In the afternoon I settled myself on the perfect seat in front of the main stage and listened to a talk on the design of educational facilities, and I only scoffed once.

Leave a Reply

